“A joyful heart is good medicine”

This week so far has been packed with most of spiritual events. I’m always trying to keep myself busy, but I wanted to do more this week. And I’m so happy Jehovah has blessed me with a handful of different things to do and plan for the future. I’m so excited! A few of my highlights from the week is:

Monday (01-05-15) started off the week with such an encouraging meeting. The meeting was very special, because we got to sing together one of our new songs, “136: The Kingdom Is in Place — Let It Come!”. It was such an emotional event, I remember when we first sang it, it felt like everyone had the butterflies in their stomach. And when we got to sing it again, we were so excited. Another reason why it was special is my friend, Zuri is moving to my congregation. Earlier that day, she had text me about the meeting time. We got to talk for a bit through the phone and hearing she made up her mind and has been trying to do a few changes to move in, catching up. It was really nice seeing her again since I only met her once last year. We definitely clicked when we saw each other again. I love it.

Wednesday (01-07-15) was super nice. It has been my goal to go out more regularly on Wednesdays. It’s been a struggle, but I’m working on it. This past Wednesday I went out and did morning service with my congregation. I got to work a couple that I am very close to, David and Bonnie along with two other sisters, Hong and Tuyet. It was a very loving car group. I got to catch up on some stuff with David which was nice since it’s been a while we’ve last worked together. I think it’s been a few months. After service, I went home and made myself lunch then prepared for my Bible Study later on that day. My study’s name is Cynthia. She’s such a cute little girl. I decided to do something different with the last study. I brought over the “Walk in Faith” movie for both of us and her Mom to watch. They really enjoyed it and I think I’ll do more movies in the future when studying with Cynthia so that it would be fun. After my study, I went over to my friend, Rosie’s house which I thought was the cutest thing ever. I would love to have my own little house like hers! We chatted until it was time to go to the Kingdom Hall for the meeting. It was another special meeting during that week. Besides the new song, another reason why that meeting night was special is my friend, Javier had his talk! I’m so proud of him. He did a splendid job! I love these two so much. They really do bring out the best of me and I feel like everyone should have a friendship like that. If people did, the world would probably be a tad batter. And people wouldn’t be so lonely and bitter most of the time.

IMG_4492IMG_4491image

           It takes us a few minutes to take a picture.

image (1)

image (2)

image (3)

RosieJoe and Javier

Friday (01-09-15) I got to spend most of the day with RosieJoe! Since she was off from work, we had planned to work together in Vietnamese service. Every time I hang out with her, never is a minute has been wasted or when I am not laughing. That’s something I will never ever get tired of. I invited Rosie over earlier that day for lunch. I made some turkey chops with a few sides of mixed salad, sweet potatoes, yellow squash, and string beans. I still haven’t thought of a name for it. But it turned out amazingly delicious, I must say. Funny thing, I never knew she can be picky when it came to vegetables, but she tried most of them anyways.

IMG_1064IMG_1063

Turns out there’s a story behind every vegetable she’s come across to. If not, I’m sure we’ll be able to make up one of our own! I was very pleased to know that she really enjoyed the chop. Honestly, I never cooked turkey chops before, just pork. So hearing the great feedback was a big plus.

IMG_1065

I think I fed her a lot. Because after we ate something, I’m always offering her something else. And I’ve noticed we always come across taro! The first time we did service together which was a few weeks ago, I took her out for some taro boba. Then on Friday, taro cake. Taro, taro, taro. We even have inside taro jokes. The list just goes on. Another reason why I love her. She can always pull out a joke anytime and find the fun in whatever we do. She’s a great service partner. Even though she doesn’t speak the language, her encouragement and outgoing spirit really makes things better. But I am turning her into a Vietnamita. She also makes me laugh. I was very happy we made a day planned to spend time with each other and still am, because not only she makes me laugh the hardest, but also to the fullest.

After service, we came back to my house for dinner. My Mom made some chicken porridge. It was Rosie’s first time trying it and she enjoyed it! She also tried some new things: jack fruit (she calls them mini enchiladas), green grapefruit, and taro — just kidding! No taro. Just taro jokes. We later ended the night with a movie, Night at the Museum.

Today, Saturday (01-10-15) was a very great experience. Spiritually, mentally, and emotionally. My friend, Bree had her Spanish Assembly today in Denton and invited me to come attend. To show her some support and love, I went. Attending to a Spanish Assembly has actually been one of my goals for a very long time that I wanted to achieve. So I am very happy I had the opportunity to! When I walked into the auditorium, I was really nervous, yet at the same time, felt excited. Nervous, because I, probably the only Asian (unless I really did fit in) was in a building filed with Hispanic and Spanish speaking people. And I only speak poquito Espanol. But excited, because I knew this would be a challenge for me. I was surprised I lasted the whole day without feeling too overwhelmed. I picked up a lot of words and learned new ones. For instance, la paz. It’s peace. And man, did I hear it from the first talk to the last! Even when reading the scriptures and singing, those two words was everywhere in between. I was also able to memorize and point out a few books from the Bible. I am very proud of myself today. I think I did a good job with concentrating and putting myself out there for a real challenge when it comes to Spanish. I definitely will try to go the next one. I did make some new friends that I’m happy with and look forward to seeing them soon! This whole week has been nothing, but very very productive.

image (4)

9 thoughts on ““A joyful heart is good medicine”

Leave a Reply

