Improvement

It’s been a while since I’ve really sat down and blogged. A lot has been going on for the last past month. I don’t know where to start, so I’ll just begin with some of the latest that I can remember from the top of my head.

For the past 3 weeks, I’ve been busy looking for houses since my family and I will be moving to Dallas/Irving area. Our house has already been sold and we will be moving out in the beginning of April. It’s been a pretty stressful few weeks trying to look for a house to either lease or buy, because the market is just blowing up and by the time we go check out the house, someone already signed the contract. My family has been wanting to move for the past few years now due to my Dad’s work place is in Downtown and our meetings is a long drive. Both to my Dad’s workplace and Hall is a 45 minutes-1 hour of a car drive, each. So as you can imagine, after each day, month, turning into years.. adding up all of the finance, it’s definitely better if we move somewhere closer and in the middle of both places. I’m really excited about the move. I was born in Dallas so it’ll be nice to be back in that area that I’m more familiar and feel at home with. I’m ready to move and start some place new.

I’ve recently started to get on this called, Candida Diet. I have a chronic skin problem that I’ve been dealing with for the past six years. Over the past year, it has gotten to the very worse point that I’ve ever experienced. It’s been a tough battle for me since I have it all over. I’m kind of like Job, haha. Except I don’t have any worms coming out of me (thank goodness) and instead of six months, it’s been years for me. I was recommended about this diet from a friend of mine who treated someone with the same condition ten years ago, although hers was not as chronic like mine. I am determined to be on this diet for one whole year in order to see improvement. Afterwards, I will be able to eat normal again. In the meantime, I have to stay away from: fruits, sweets/sugar, gluten, fast foods, processed foods, red meat, sodas, diary, spicy foods. I’m basically like a rabbit now. I mean, I eat carrots and celery as snacks, haha! Being on this diet has its pros and cons. Pros are I feel healthier and more energized. I haven’t seen a lot of improvement on my skin yet, but it will take a few more months for it to kick it. The only con is all of these cravings I have. Especially for Mexican foods, pasta, chocolate, my Mom’s cooking. Ohhhh.. it’s hard. I love my Mom’s dishes. And I haven’t had any of her food for almost a month now. It’s killing me! But on the bright side, I have been cooking a lot more. I’ve been making my own food every single day for every meal. I’ve learned new foods to substitute the ones I used to eat. For instance, instead of the regular rice I eat, I can have gluten free or brown which I’ve never had before. I’ve been introduced to millet which is a grain I can have which tastes quite good. It tastes like quinoa, but a little more sweeter and dryer. It does suck that I’m not able to have my favorite foods, but I still cook them for others or when I have guests over. With this diet, I’ve begun a habit of eating more greens and craving for it more than I have ever had in the past. I’m experimenting more with the different alternatives, playing around with herbs into my dishes so it wouldn’t taste bland. I never knew there was such thing as gluten free pancakes. It tastes amazing! And coconut flour is splendid!

I’ve been focusing more on myself and people around me, keeping myself busy. I have a new goal: work more on my English (spiritually). I was born and raised in Texas, but my first language is Vietnamese. So since I’ve been a little girl til now, the language I often use is Vietnamese. I’m mostly surrounded by Vietnamese people either at the store, family, meetings, ministry. It’s the language I use most often. When I was younger, I felt proud of knowing my language and be able to speak it fluently. But the older I get now, I feel like it’s more dominant than my English. When I do English territory, I find it difficult to speak at the door, because my mind works in Vietnamese. A few days ago when I was doing personal study, which I do in Vietnamese, I decided to do it in English. It was uncomfortable for me and I felt like I didn’t comprehend the material as much as I do with Vietnamese. It made me feel a bit disappointed in myself. So I have a goal of attending weekly meetings in English during this time. I will still be in the Vietnamese, but I will attend both my meetings and English. What I want to see in myself is improvement spiritually, understanding the materials and be able to comment more in English. I want to be a better teacher when conducting studies in English.

Leave a Reply

