Healthy Gluten-Free Chicken Enchiladas with Avocado Sauce

Besides tacos, enchiladas is another of my most favorite Mexican dish. I’ve been trying to think of different substitutions and making my own version of it with ingredients I can currently eat without losing that Mexican flavor. After a while of mixing around with some ingredients, it’s safe to say I have finally got it down! And I actually like this better than the authentic kind. (gasp!)

I started out with two chicken breasts sprinkled with salt, black ground pepper, and cayenne pepper (for that substitution of bell peppers). Sauteed it, then cut it into strips. I was too lazy to hand shred it and I think it’s ridiculous to spend money on a small package of a prepared one. I wanted these enchiladas to be on the healthy side. So for filling, I used thinly sliced fresh green zucchini squash, black beans, chopped purple onions, minced garlic. I sauteed that separately together until the zucchini and onions were slightly brown. Afterwards, I poured in pasta sauce (tomato basil, you can use whatever kind of flavor pasta sauce you’d like). Gradually, I sprinkled some ground cumin and garlic powder (I forgot to add this part earlier!) then I added in the chicken strips and folded everything together.

IMG_6005

IMG_6006

In a baking dish, I lightly put a thing layer of the sauce then got gluten free tortillas one by one, filling them in side by side. Once it filled the tray, I poured the remainder of the sauce over and baked it 350F for 20 minutes. While waiting for it to bake, in a medium sized bowl, I got two (3 would be better) large ripe avocados and made guacamole. When creamy, I cut half of a small sized lime out put the juice in the guac. When the enchiladas were done, I put on the guac as a substitute for cheese and sour cream. Garnished it with freshly chopped green onions and cilantro.

IMG_6007

IMG_6008

Keep in mind, this was my very first time making enchiladas. I had so much fun putting this together and was blown away that it tasted amazing! I will definitely make this again. The creamy fresh guac. totally made it taste so much better.

IMG_6012

IMG_6022

2 thoughts on “Healthy Gluten-Free Chicken Enchiladas with Avocado Sauce

Leave a Reply

