Throw yourself

C. JoyBell once said,

“The only way that we can live, is if we grow. The only way that we can grow is if we change. The only way that we can change is if we learn. The only way we can learn is if we are exposed. And the only way that we can become exposed is if we throw ourselves out into the open. Do it. Throw yourself.”

This quote really describes what the past six months has been: throwing myself. To start off, I have moved from the Vietnamese to the Spanish congregation.

For my whole life, I have been in the Vietnamese. I have grown a lot while there, but I came to a point around a year ago when I started to feel unhappy. I prayed so much about it and did everything I could to spiritually grow. All I knew was when I attended the Spanish, there was this spark. I was happy and wanted to grow there. For the last three years, I started to have an interest in the Spanish even more than before. I never took any action, because the feeling of abandoning a place I’ve been with for so long with people who’ve become like my second family.. it was heartbreaking. There were many reasons for me to stay with the Vietnamese. But there’s also many reasons for me to move on and take a chance on something new. I was getting comfortable. Most importantly, I wanted to spiritually grow. So I decided to take the opportunity to throw myself and dive into moving in the Spanish. It’s been one of the best decisions I’ve made.

When I was in the Vietnamese, I noticed this strive and enthusiasm the learners had. I’ve experienced that with Spanish. Now my craving for spiritual growth increases and it pushes me to do more, because I want to for Jehovah. The congregation has been so loving towards me. I love everyone so much and am really happy. All thanks to Jehovah. Now with Spanish, working full time, and pioneering, I really don’t have any time for anything else. Everyone knows I am a very busy person, but another thing that has helped me with having a busy schedule is to have priorities.

I have learned to prioritize. At the same time, remain balanced in all things. Throwing myself out there is scary, but it’s also a rush of adrenaline. There are so many opportunities waiting for me. Jehovah knows what is best for me. I won’t drown with Jehovah’s help. I will only float and learn how to swim through high waves.

You like how I snuck in those water metaphors? Hehe. I’m so proud of myself.

Leave a Reply

